The Scotland Malawi Mental Health Education Project (SMMHEP) is a charity that works with the Kumuzu University of Health Sciences, and the Malawi Department of Health, to support mental health training in Malawi. We focus on medical students and postgraduate doctors but also support clinical officers, psychiatric nurses and other health professionals where we can.


To respond to local needs as identified by our Malawian colleagues. Our aim is to help Malawi develop enough appropriately qualified professionals to run its own mental health training programmes in the future.


SMMHEP is managed by a group of voluntary trustees, with the help of an accountant. There are currently thirteen trustees, all of whom are senior psychiatrists. Other trainee and consultant psychiatrists also generously contribute to the management of SMMHEP. We have no paid support in the UK.

Although Dr Kazione Kulisewa the Head of the Mental Health Department at the Kumuzu University of Health Sciences is not a trustee, he is a pivotal figure in SMMHEP's work. He runs the psychiatry department in Blantyre, organises undergraduate and postgraduate teaching, supervises research and provides a clinical service. He also supports and supervises SMMHEP volunteers.  Both he and Dr Olive Liwimbi, Psychiatrist at Zomba Mental Hospital were supported through their training by SMMHEP. Dr Liwimbi plays an integral role supporting the teaching of medical students in Zomba where she is the only psychiatrist. She also has a clinical managerial role in the hospital and leads on a Quality Improvement initiative support by SMMHEP.


  1. Dr David Crossley (Convener and Safeguarding)
  2. Dr Donncha Mullin (Vice-Convener)
  3. Mr Iain MacLeod (Treasurer)
  4. Dr Carol Robertson (Secretary)
  5. Dr Sarah Leslie (Volunteer Coordinator)
  6. Dr Jen Mutch (Website and Social Media)
  7. Dr Rob Stewart
  8. Dr Jen Ahrens
  9. Dr Sheila Gilfillan
  10. Dr Madeline Osborn
  11. Dr Heather Gardiner
  12. Dr Olive Liwimbi

We are very grateful for the IT Support kindly provided by Mr Peter Falconer and our thanks also go to Lucy Ashton for all her work on designing our website.